Home » Our Team

Our Team

Director of Life Paths Research Center & Co-Chair of ResilienceCon: Sherry Hamby, Ph.D is Research Professor of Psychology at the University of the South. A licensed clinical psychologist, she has worked for more than 20 years to make families stronger. Dr. Hamby is best known for her work on poly-victimization and improving measures of violence.

Nicole Yuan Ph.D.

Co-Chair of ResilienceCon: Nicole Yuan, Ph.D is an Associate Professor in the Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health at the University of Arizona. She received a doctoral degree in clinical psychology from Bowling Green State University. In 2011, she received a Master degree in public health from the University of Washington.

Susan Yoon Ph.D.

Co-Chair of ResilienceCon: Susan Yoon, Ph.D. is an Assistant Professor in the College of Social Work at The Ohio State University.

Victoria Banyard Ph.D.

Founding Co-Chair of ResilienceCon: Victoria Banyard, Ph.D is also a Professor in the School of Social Work at Rutgers University. Dr. Banyard is best known for her work on bystander approaches to violence prevention, including developing the Bringing in the Bystander Program.

Elizabeth Taylor M.S.

Project Manager & Conference Director: Elizabeth Taylor, M.S. is a PhD Candidate at Oakland University working with Dr. Michele R. Parkhill. She has also worked with Life Paths Research Center for over 7 years and oversees the logistical and managerial tasks associated with ResilienceCon..


Sherry Hamby, Co-Chair
Nicole Yuan, Co-Chair
Susan Yoon, Co-Chair
Victoria Banyard, Founding Co-Chair
Kathryn Howell, Senior Advisor
Elizabeth Taylor, Conference Director
Esther N.K. Malm, Senior Advisor
Rufaro Chitiyo, Program Committee Member
Jonathan Davis, Program Committee Member
Jessica Elm, Program Committee Fellow
Amanda J. Hasselle, Program Committee Student Representative
James Jurgensen, Program Committee Fellow
Nidal A-Z Kram, Program Committee Student Representative
Kathryn Maguire-Jack, Program Committee Member
Hasina Mohyuddin, Program Committee Member
Danielle Rousseau, Program Committee Member
Katie Schultz, Program Committee Member
Rachel Wamser-Nanney, Program Committee Member

Etiony Aldarondo Ph.D.

Research Scientist

Etiony Aldarondo, Ph.D. is the Executive Director of The Melissa Institute for Violence Prevention and Treatment and President of the Behavioral Sciences & Wellness Networks

Ayesha Aziz M.S.

Research Fellow

Ayesha Aziz, M.S. is a Ph.D. Scholar at the Centre for Clinical Psychology, University of the Punjab, Lahore.

Matt Brooks Ph.D.

Research Scientist

Matt Brooks, Ph.D. is a Chartered Psychologist and a Lecturer in Forensic Psychology at Manchester Metropolitan University in the United Kingdom.

Shih Ying Cheng MSW

Research Fellow

Shih-Ying Cheng, MSW is a doctoral candidate in the School of Social Work at Washington University in St. Louis. Her research interests include services and policies that address intimate partner violence (IPV), health and social service utilization among recent immigrants, and the implementation of evidence-based practice.

Lois Engelbrecht Ph.D.

Research Scientist

Lois Engelbrecht, Ph.D. is the founder of the Center for the Prevention and Treatment of Child Sexual Abuse in Quezon City

Rosaura Gonzalez Mendez Ph.D.

Research Scientist

Rosaura Gonzalez-Mendez, Ph.D. is an Associate Professor at the Universidad de La Laguna, Spain

Kathryn Howell Ph.D.

Research Scientist

Kathryn Howell, Ph.D. is an Associate Professor in the Department of Psychology at the University of Memphis.

Esther N.K. Malm Ph.D.

Research Scientist

Esther N.K. Malm, Ph.D. is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychology, at Murray State University.

Susana Mariscal Ph.D.

Research Scientist

Susana Mariscal, Ph.D. is an Associate Professor of Social Work at Indiana University.

Gitika Talwar Ph.D.

Research Scientist

Gitika Talwar, Ph.D. is a community-clinical psychologist and advocate for bipartisan immigration reform

Elizabeth Terrazas Carrillo Ph.D.

Research Scientist

Elizabeth Terrazas-Carrillo, Ph.D. is an Associate Professor of Counseling at Texas A&M International University and a Texas Licensed Psychologist.

Xiafei Wang Ph.D.

Research Scientist

Xiafei Wang, Ph.D. is an Assistant Professor in the School of Social Work at Syracuse University.

Michelle Wright Ph.D.

Research Scientist

Michelle Wright, Ph.D. is an international expert on offline and online risks among children and adolescents. She is employed as an online adjunct instructor at Penn State University and DePaul University.

Susan Yoon Ph.D.

Research Scientist

Susan Yoon, Ph.D. is an Assistant Professor in the College of Social Work at The Ohio State University


Xiaodi Chen, ’22
Elizabeth de Wetter, ’22
Lynnaya Hamby, Hendrix University
Jenna Land, ’20
Nick Manco, ’20
Catherine Marine, ’21
Katherine Montgomery, ’22